Justice Dipak Misra Sworn in as the Chief Justice Of India

Justice Dipak Misra was sworn in as the 45th Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India at a ceremony held on August 28, 2017 in the Durbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan. He made and subscribed to the oath of office before the President.

Born in 1953, 63-year-old he joined the bar in 1977 and began his judicial career at the Orissa High Court as an additional judge in 1996. He was then transferred to the Madras high court following which he assumed charge as Chief Justice of the Patna High Court in 2009. He was named Chief Justice of Delhi High Court in 2010.

He will have a 14-month tenure till October 2018. He takes over from Chief Justice J.S. Khehar. Justice Khehar nominated him last month on behalf of the Collegium for consideration by the centre as the next Chief Justice of the country.

Article 124 of the Constitution of India provides for the manner of appointing judges to the Supreme Court. Though no specific provision exists in the Constitution for appointing the Chief Justice, who, as a result, is appointed like the other judges conventionally, the outgoing CJI recommends the name of the senior-most judge (i.e. by date of appointment to the Supreme Court) for appointment by the President of India, as his successor.

Article 124(4) of Constitution of India lays down the procedure for removal of a Judge of Supreme Court which is applicable to Chief Justice as well. Once appointed, the Chief Justice remains in office till the age of 65 years.

Quiz of the Day