India Wins T-20 World Cup For Blind

India defeated Pakistan by nine wickets to lift the T20 World Cup for Blind title on Sunday in Bangalore. Set a target of 198 runs to win, India chased down the total with the loss of just one wicket and with 14 balls to spare. Opener Prakasha Jayaramaiah scored an unbeaten 99 to put India on course for the title. Badar Munir top scored for Pakistan with a 57-run knock. With the win, India have successfully defended the title they had won in 2012.

However, despite the bright start, Pakistan's middle-order stumbled later in their innings, as India restricted them to a total of 197/8 from the stipulated 20 overs. Ketan Patel and Jaffar Igbal picked two wickets each for India, while Ajay Kumar Reddy and Sunil R dismissed one each.

What is a Blind cricket?

It is a version of the sport of cricket adapted for blind and partially sighted players. It has been governed by the World Blind Cricket Council (WBCC) since 1996. So far, four Blind World Cups have been held, New Delhi, India (1998); Chennai, India (2002) and Islamabad, Pakistan (2006). In 2012, the first Blind World Cup T20 was held in Bangalore, India. Blind cricket relies on common use of the 'sweep shot', in order to provide maximum chance of the bat hitting the ball.

Quiz of the Day