Six cities set to get ferry services along Ganga

December 30, 2016

In a move that promises to reduce congestion on roads, six cities along the river Ganga including Varanasi, Kolkata and Patna are going to get passenger ferry services.


The Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI), Ministry of Shipping has recently entered into a contract with a joint venture of Infrastructure Architecture Lab of Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), (U.S.) and Thompson Design Group (TDG), Boston, (U.S.) for identifying suitable locations for construction of 18 ferry terminals in six cities of Allahabad, Varanasi, Patna, Munghyr, Kolkata and Haldia, which are along the stretch of the river Ganga identified as National Waterway-1.


Know More


Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI) was created by Government of India on 27 October 1986 for development and regulation of Inland waterways for shipping and navigation. The Authority primarily undertakes projects for development and maintenance of Inland Waterway Terminal infrastructure on National Waterways through grant received from Ministry of Shipping, Road Transport and Highways. The head office is at Noida.



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Quiz of the Day

Quiz - 37 Current Affairs

February 13, 2018

Please reload

Featured Posts