Digital India Awards 2016

In order to promote innovative e-governance initiatives by the government entities Digital India awards, earlier known as the Web Ratna Awards, were instituted under the Ambit of National Portal of India. The award acknowledges exemplary initiatives of various government entities in the realm of e-governance. Web Ratna awards were biennial awards and the previous three editions of the awards were held in the years 2009, 2012 and 2014.

Considering the vision of Digital India and acknowledging the fact that citizens are now accessing government information and services through medium other than the web, the scope of the Web Ratna awards was broadened to include these initiatives also. Consequently three new categories of awards were introduced and the awards themselves were rechristened as Digital India awards to reflect this vision.

Digital India Awards 2016 have been constituted under the following eight categories:-

1. Exemplary Online Service

2. Most Innovative Citizen Engagement

3. Web Ratna - MINISTRY / DEPT.

4. Web Ratna - STATE / UT

5. Web Ratna District.

6. Outstanding Digital initiative by Local body

7. Best Mobile App

8. Open Data Champion

Quiz of the Day