Top seven IITs to get Rs. 100 cr. each

The Centre will offer Rs. 100 crore each to the top seven Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) in the coming financial year to improve their quality further with a view to enhancing their global rankings. The IITs chosen are IIT Madras, IIT Mumbai, IIT Kanpur, IIT Delhi, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Roorkee and IIT Guwahati. The IITs will be given Rs. 100 crore so that they can take measures to improve their global rankings. These could be global collaborations or roping in global faculty. Or anything else, as per the requirements of the institutes. This offer would be seen as an initiative under a project called Vishwajeet .

Know more-

Vishwajeet (a hindi word which literally means, conqueror of the world), this project aims at enhancing the global stature of the IITs and catapulting them to the big league.

IIT-(Indian Institute of Technology) - The Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) is a group of educational institutes in India set up by the government to produce high quality scientists, engineers and technologists.

Governed by the IIT Act of 1961, the IITs are autonomous institutes with their own boards of directors. IIT Kharagpur was the first institute to be set up in 1951, followed by IIT Bombay in 1958, IIT Madras and IIT Kanpur in 1959, IIT Delhi in 1961, IIT Guwahati in 1994 and IIT Roorkee in 2001. In 2011, the IIT Act was amended to add more institutes to the list.

Quiz of the Day