SSP Chawrasia won Indian Open title, second time:

Defending champion SSP Chawrasia claimed his second consecutive Indian Open title after racing to victory at 10 under DLF Golf Course. Five-time Asian Tour winner Chawrasia became only the second Indian to win the Indian Open in two successive years after Jyoti Randhawa. Another Indian, Anirban Lahiri finished tied sixth in the competition.

He becomes the third player to win back-to-back Indian Open. Jyoti Randhawa did that in 2006 and 2007 while Japan’s Kenji Hosoishi had won it way back in 1967 and 1968.

This is also the third year in succession that an Indian had won this title at home after Lahiri clinched victory in 2015.

Know more:

In February 2008, he won the inaugural Indian Masters, which was a part of the 2008 European Tour.

In February 2011, Chawrasia won his second European Tour event winning the 2011 Avantha Masters in New Delhi.

Quiz of the Day